Unexpected Columbia: Ozark Mountain Biscuit Co.

I had heard the rumblings online about it. I read tweets from people raving about something called the Sooie Pig. I saw pictures of golden biscuits wrapped around mouth watering items like bacon and pulled pork and others of those biscuits smothered in gravy. I knew…I had to find this wonderful place.

It wasn’t until a few weeks after I’d started following them on Twitter (@biscuit_truck) before I finally tracked down the Ozark Mountain Biscuit Company at the Roots ‘n Blues ‘n BBQ Festival in September. Greeted with an array of choices, I went with the choice I’d heard about the most, the Haughty Hillbilly. It was knowing that there was homemade pimento cheese involved that sold me. In moments, I had my biscuit.

Biscuit

It was pretty much as perfect as I’d heard it described. The fried green tomato was perfectly fried and juicy, the bacon crispy, the arugula was fresh and the cheese was incredibly flavorful. And the biscuit…it was flaky, buttery, everything you want in a biscuit.

The sandwich was gone all too soon, but I know I’ll be back. I still have the chicken fried chicken biscuit and the biscuit with sweet cream and homemade preserves to try.

Want to know where to find the Ozark Mountain Biscuit Company during your next Columbia visit? Be sure to follow them on Twitter (@biscuit_truck) for updates on where they’ll be and visit their site to check out their entire menu and get a weekly schedule. Tracking them down is well worth the effort. Your taste buds will thank you!

, , ,

Sign me up!

Subscribe to the Gotta Go CoMo blog and stay in the know about all things Columbia, MO!

No comments yet.

Join the Discussion!

